In the assembly of the Culture Secretaries of the European Union which took place in Brussels on the 28th of May 1998, it was officially decided the designation of Salamanca as a European City of Culture 2002 after having taken into consideration its qualities as a university town, open and hospitable as well as its historic and artistic richness which made the UNESCO declare this city as Heritage of Humanity.

The old part of this town of encounters and wise men, great thinkers on science and humanities make up an exceptional mosaic and network of cathedrals with the Palaces of Monterrey and Fonseca, the “Shell house”, the Clavero tower, the Plaza Mayor and the convents of San Esteban and Dueñas. All this heritage is enriched by the university nature of the town with the oldest university in Spain.